Pin on Pinterest
2017 Civic League Grant Recipients


Since 1963, The Civic League Foundation, Inc., a non-profit organization, has awarded more than $2.7 million in scholarships and grants benefiting Addison, Carrollton and Farmers Branch. The organization's mission of contributing to the growth and development of a changing community remains as relevant now as it was over fifty years ago. 

The Civic League Foundation, Inc.: 2017 Scholarships Total $59,000

Each year graduating seniors and college students who were previous scholarship recipients may apply for a scholarship in early spring using the application available online at Interviews are conducted and scholarships are awarded based on financial need, educational performance, maturity and goals.

Eighteen area high school seniors were presented with scholarships from The Civic League Foundation, Inc. totaling $44,500

Thirteen continuing college students were awarded $14,500 (includes Dana Ingram Memorial Scholarship)

 Early College High School Recipients Awarded $12,500

Maria Bonilla (Parents - Diego Bonilla & Irene Castaneda)

Francisco Mendez (Parents - Jose Rigoberto Mendez & Vincenta Aviles)

Leslie Ramirez (Parents - Gerardo & Petra Ramirez)

Yuzek Rodriguez (Parents - Juan & Luz Rodgriguez)

Edgar Sierra (Parents - Genaro Sierra & Ana Valladares) 


R.L. Turner High School Recipients Awarded $12,000 (includes Bill McClung, Katie Patterson, and Faye Brooks Sturgis Memorial Scholarships)

Mackenzie Clowe (Parent - Paula Clowe)

Alex Fantine (Parents - Richard & Laurie Fantine)

Jeanette Gallardo (Parents - Raphael & Elena Gallardo)

Angela Guatemala (Parents - Wilfredo Guatemala & Maria Oliveres)

Ruben Ramirez (Parent - Maria Ramirez)


Newman Smith High School Recipients Awarded $10,500 (includes John Allen and Cy Young Memorial Scholarships) 

Nelda Alcala (Parents - Juan & Maria Alcala)

Erika Echaniz (Parents - Enrique & Mirta Echaniz)

Neida Rivera (Parent - Maria Zamora)

Rachel Stout (Parents - Kerry & Susan Stout)


Creekview High School Recipients Awarded $8,000 (includes Dana Ingram Memorial Scholarship)

Timia Isaac (Parent - Corey Isaac)

Sarah Reicherts (Parents - Rodney & Coleen Reicherts)

Jhoselyn Salugero (Parent - Edwin Salugero)


 W.T. White High School Recipient Awarded $1,500 (includes Maxine Osburn Memorial Scholarship)

Sara Balogun (Parents - Olusegun & Francisca Balogun)


 In addition to Scholarships:

 The Civic League recently awarded $46,000 in grants to area non-profit organizations who serve our communities. 

This year's grant recipients include

  • Camp Summit
  • Children's Advocacy Center of Denton County
  • The Family Place
  • Metrocrest Community Clinic
  • Metrocrest Service
  • Farmers Branch Education Foundation
  • The Firehouse Theater
  • WaterTower Theater, among others.   

Through these grants and scholarships, The Civic League is helping promote education and leadership development, prevent family violence, enhance the lives of persons with disabilities, meet emergency financial aid, make health care more accessible, support the independence of senior adults, and enrich lives through the arts. 

Funds are raised each year through the Holiday Tour of Homes. The 2017 Holiday Home Tour will take place November 10th, 11th and 12th. Anyone who would like to support the Tour of Homes by becoming a sponsor or donor can call Barb Parrish 469-441-3528.

                                                             The Civic League Foundation, Inc.